Thinking Positive – Let all you do be done in love

Let all you do be done in love mommameesh.wordpress.com

“Let all you do be done in love” 1 Corinthians 16:14

I came across this verse today on Pinterest. I decided to open up my bible and read more to see what came right before that. There are a lot of ways people interpret the Bible, I believe. There is the meaning as it was written and taking into account the whole book, but there is also personal interpretation. For me, I take parts of the Bible and will relate certain verses to my life. Today I thought about 1 Corinthians 16:13-14 and how those verses made me feel when I read them. I didn’t read them within the context of the book or even the whole chapter. I read them alone for my own interpretation and motivation.

1 Corinthians 16:13-14 (NLT) reads:

1 Corinthians 16:13-14 NLT mommameesh.wordpress.com

I find myself not only being hard on myself, but sometimes complaining about tasks I need to do. Reading this made me see I need to do everything, or all I do, with love, that includes how I treat myself. I need to be more positive and not complain or judge.  Reading verses 13 and 14 together I feel gives me great advice: I need to stand firm in my faith, be courageous, strong and do everything with love. Everything. Not just for others. Everything I do.

How do I do that in every day life?

Be on guard. Stand Firm in the Faith

When I first read this, I though about how I need to reflect on my actions and decisions. I need to think about how my faith leads me as well as seeing Faith in this context as becoming something you believe. Stand firm to what you believe and care about. I need to be on guard for temptations and stand firm in the faith that I am doing what is right for me and will feel good. Any journey and change is hard, I need to be aware of things that will come against me (either through every day life, or my own thoughts and feelings) and still believe that I am on the right path. (which is completely off from what the verse is saying within this chapter, but again, I am reading it for my own personal guidance right now, not as a Bible study).

Be courageous, Be strong

This one I had to think about. How can I be courageous in every day life? I wasn’t sure, so I looked up “courage” at dictionary.com. It reads “the quality of mind or spirit that enables a person to face difficulty,danger, pain, etc., without fear” Now I see. Every day there will be things that require different levels of courage. There are every day difficulties and pain, some worse than others. I need to take each day and work through my difficulties, my pain, etc. without the fear of failure or anxiety. I have anxiety and will worry about, or fear, certain situations so much I make myself physically ill. Sometimes it is about an upcoming deadline, or it could be an upcoming social event. I am working on ways to cope and one of them is through my faith. So by standing firm in the faith, it helps me gain courage to overcome and become strong (all linking together for me).

And do everything with love

I think this one is hard to do, but an important thing to do in every day life. Reading this, I think of “love” as positive thoughts, no judgement or criticism. Not everything you will do will be done in love. That is just a simple fact of being human. But there are some areas where we can conscientiously work towards being more positive and loving. Being grateful for things as well as recognizing things you need to show appreciation for, is important. For me in my “Healthier Me” journey, it is learning how to do things for myself with love. I need to remind myself to be more positive and loving towards myself instead of judging and criticizing. I know this is something I need to work on, and plan to work on through the “Think Positive – Pray – Relax” portion of my journey.

What does 1 Corinthians 16:14 mean to you?

Let me know your thoughts...

