Overcoming Doubt

Psalms 94:19 - mommameesh.wordpress.com

With my training only a week away I have been very excited to begin a new phase of my journey. Further to that, I received a call today from my assigned Home Study worker. It is becoming more real with each step I take. Naturally, I start to think about ‘what ifs’ and doubt how I will be as a Foster Parent. Will I be able to handle the stress of a third child? Will I be able to do it on my own as a single parent?

I think it is natural for all of us to have doubts. Sometimes they are rational and make you think about things in ways you hadn’t before; other times, it can be irrational fear that creeps up. For me, it is a little of both and I am learning to tell the two apart.

In the past couple of weeks I have been turning to prayer when I feel doubts or worry about what the future holds for my family.  I am turning to my Bible (or Bible App) to focus on prayer. This has helped me so much! I feel lighter and more confident. It has helped me overcome doubts and worry and become confident and happy about my choices.

Above is a verse I came across that I had to bookmark and highlight. It sat with me and reminds me to turn to God when I am feeling doubt and fear. I like it so much I am going to make a necklace that says it so I can keep it with me (just waiting until my jewellery order arrives!).

I know I will be visiting this verse often as I continue my journey to becoming a foster parent (and then, probably daily once I become one!). What other verses do you find helpful in your times of doubt?

signature

One thought on “Overcoming Doubt

Let me know your thoughts...

