Becoming a Foster Parent – My Timeline

Becoming a Foster Parent - Timeline - Process - Application to Approval - Home Study Assessments

I thought I would share the timeline of my process so far. At the beginning, they said it could take anywhere from 9-12 months. Due to long waits between appointments it is looking more like 12-13 months from beginning to end to be officially approved as a Foster Parent. The image above as well as the points below lay out what has happened over the past year.


 

My Process to Date: May 2015 to April 2016

May 7, 2015  – First inquiry to CAS about becoming a foster parent and how to go through training

July 20, 2015 – CAS Worker visited my home to discuss becoming a foster parent, to give more information and a copy of the application package

On July 26th, they confirmed they received my application package and booked me in for PRIDE training. I was then in the waiting stage to start training (about 2 months away) and be assigned a Home Study Worker.

September 23, 2015 – Home Study worker assigned (once PRIDE training starts they assign a home study worker to go through the rest of the approval process with you)

September 29, 2015 – December 1, 2015 – PRIDE TRAINING – 9 Sessions (3 hours per session for a total of 27 Hours training). I attended Tuesday evening sessions. They also had a Saturday option which you could take for 4 Saturdays in a row in November, then the final session was with the Tuesday night group on December 1. Since I would rather give up a Tuesday night then four full day Saturdays, I went with the Tuesday night group. The end date of both groups was the same.

October 19, 2015 – INFORMATION GATHERING STAGE – I received an email stating I had entered the next phase. I was sent policies to review, I had to submit my police and medical checks, complete a Resource Family Profile and was also sent a question sheet to complete after Training. Online training for AODA was required at this time as well (Accessibility for Ontarian’s with Disabilities Act – it is a requirement in Ontario to complete this training)

November 3, 2015 – Confirmation from CAS that my AODA training was complete and Car Seat training session is booked. I had to attend a mandatory car seat training session which I completed in January.

January 4, 2016 – ASSESSMENT PHASE (PRIDE Training is complete!). First Home Study Appointment Confirmed

January 15, 2016 – Home Study Assessment #1 Completed

January 19, 2016 – Received a report about my first Home Study Assessment and follow up items from the SAFE Checklist that we had gone over.

March 2, 2016 – Home Study Assessment#2  Rescheduled for April 7, due to weather and bad road conditions

April 7, 2016 – Home Study Assessment #2

April 21, 2016 – Home Study Assessment #3 (FINAL Appointment!)

Once my final appointment is complete I enter the “waiting for official approval” stage. I have been told this could take from a week or two up to two months, depending on what CAS needs and what children I have filled out as willing to accept.

Estimated Date to be an Approved Foster Parent: May/June 2016


 

I am going to be honest: I am frustrated, it has been a lot of waiting. My Home Study worker said her and the other Home Study workers are swamped with assessments, which is great since they say there is a need for more foster parents, but also frustrating because they are in need of foster parents and I am here waiting.


What did your timeline look like? Or are you just starting yours? I’d love to hear about your experiences.

signature

3 thoughts on “Becoming a Foster Parent – My Timeline

  1. The process is so slow! It didn’t take me long to get approved to foster since I went through a private agency. But it’s taken me over 2yrs to complete a “simple update” to my adoption homestudy. It was promised to be quick and easy but has been anything but. It’s true, the social workers are busy but there are so many children in need of homes – foster and adoptive – there must be a way to speed things up.

    Liked by 2 people

Let me know your thoughts...

